Next up – Charity Event

Most of you will know all ready I am on the volunteer committee for the American Diabetes Association Tour de Cure in San Diego. The actual event is May 7th 2011 and this year is the 20th anniversary. I do many things in my capacity as a volunteer but one of my primary objectives is to increase awareness for the event and increase ridership resulting in more money raised to find a cure and defeat diabetes. My personal connection is through family members living with Type II diabetes and my own pre-diabetic diagnosis last year.

If you are interested in following my efforts on behalf of the Tour de Cure you may follow me on Facebook as SanDiegoTdC, on my Tour de Cure Team Site or on twitter as @SanDiegoTdC.

As for this weeks event SDVeloSocial (me) will be riding in the Tour de Cure training ride prior to the Kick-off Party starting and ending at Phil’s BBQ on Sport’s Arena Blvd. The ride will be 25 miles and no one will be left behind. After the ride it will be time to party with free Phil’s eats, a live broadcast by 102.1 KPRI, and lots of great give-aways.

Registration will be reduced, and if you do not have a family or corporate team already you can join Team Red and reap all the benefits. Once again the Team Red site is here. Click

If you plan on attending please RSVP to afleming@diabetes.org the event is FREE but we need to have a rough estimate of attendees in order to provide enough food for everyone.

Don't forget to RSVP

About sdvelosocial

I am a cyclist with an interest in using social media to bring people with my love of cycling together in a truly social environment. View all posts by sdvelosocial

One response to “Next up – Charity Event

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

